MISA LISA: great vegan spot in Wilda!

10338736_199296727080824_5433628292367263367_nI love cooking and that’s probably why I don’t eat out too often, however, from time to time I like to check out new food spots, especially those which appear in my own backyard. MISA LISA, a vegan restaurant, located on Górna Wilda street, has been around for a couple of months now. As I pass by this place every day on my way home, one afternoon I decided to stop by and try it out. And I must say that I would definitely have visited the place earlier, had it not been for their odd opening hours (they are open only from 1 till 7 p.m.).

From the outside, the restaurant looks rather unassuming, but still quite inviting. I really like the tiny fox (so cute!), but is the food really so delicious that it could even make a fox go vegan?

As you enter the restaurant, a homely ambience can be felt immediately. It’s a very small place, the décor is simple but very cozy. Friendly and relaxed service adds to the overall experience.

12274559_184341355243028_2959053615144695659_n

It turned out that the restaurant has no regular menu, each day a different dish is served. When I visited the place, there were two options to choose from, though I’m not sure whether it’s a rule. If you’re a particularly picky eater and the element of surprise isn’t something you look forward to when your tummy’s rambling, you can always check what’s on the menu on a given day on their Facebook page, just to be on the safe side and make sure you leave the place full and satisfied.

Ok, let’s get to the point: the food was truly delicious!

I decided to go for a pancake with hummus, pea and parsley mousse and grated Parmesan, couscous with poppy seeds, chickpea tomato stew, and collard greens with tomatoes. Although the dish appeared to be a kind of flavour mishmash at first, all flavours worked beautifully together.

12657780_219068225103674_4340307291294553726_o

I must say that there’s not much I didn’t like about the dish. Fresh ingredients, great seasoning and perfect cooking time. Different flavours and textures made me want to keep on eating. The only thing I didn’t like was the hummus, its texture was smooth and creamy as it should be, but it tasted simply like a blended chickpea, it had no garlic, no cumin and way too little tahini (for my taste at least).

I found the portion size reasonably big, which is good, and not so good if you want to treat yourself to a piece of amazing-looking chocolate cake, but you’re already full.

All in all, I would definitely recommend MISA LISA to everyone as it shows that vege cuisine can be colourful, flavoursome, well-balanced and delicious. The place turned out to be great value for money and I will visit it again.

Beata

Photo credit: MISA LISA

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

